The Outshine Fruit Bar Recall Covers 60 Lot-and-Date Combinations Across Six UPCs — and Two of Those Same UPCs Were Recalled for Foreign Objects in 2020. A Recall Pays You Back for the Box. It Is Not a Settlement.
Dreyer's Grand Ice Cream pulled five Outshine flavours on August 16, 2026 after consumer reports of glass in the product, then widened it on August 18 to include the 24-count variety pack. A matching flavour is not enough to tell whether your box is affected — you need the UPC, the lot code and the best-before date to line up. We have all sixty combinations here. We also have three things the coverage is getting wrong, including a Dreyer's lawsuit that two major consumer-legal sites still list as pending and which was actually dismissed with prejudice in May.
By Settlement Insight Data Desk ·

Check three things, not one
Massachusetts' health department put the warning in one sentence worth repeating: “A matching flavor or package size alone does not necessarily mean that the product is recalled.”
The lot code and best-before date are printed on the bottom of the box. Match the UPC, then the lot code, then the date.
| Product | Pack | UPC | Lot codes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Outshine Strawberry | 6-count, 2.5 oz | 041548610047 | 22 codes |
| Outshine Grape | 6-count, 2.5 oz | 041548244044 | 9 codes |
| Outshine Watermelon | 6-count, 2.5 oz | 041548413624 | 16 codes |
| Outshine Black Cherry | 6-count, 2.5 oz | 041548000121 | 6 codes |
| Outshine Tangerine | 6-count, 2.5 oz | 041548612041 | 2 codes |
| Outshine Variety Pack | 24-count, 2.5 oz | 041548816678 | 5 codes |
Strawberry — LLA616903, LLA617003, LLA617103, LLA617203, LLA617303, LLA617403, LLA617503, LLA617603 (best before 30 SEP 2027); LLA620303 through LLA621203 (31 OCT 2027); LLA621303, LLA621403, LLA621503, LLA621603 (30 NOV 2027).
Grape — LLA616803, LLA616903 (30 SEP 2027); LLA619703, LLA619803, LLA619903, LLA620003, LLA620103, LLA620203, LLA620303 (31 OCT 2027).
Watermelon — LLA617603 through LLA618103 (30 JUN 2027); LLA618203, LLA618303, LLA618403, LLA618503, LLA619003, LLA619103, LLA619203, LLA619303, LLA619403, LLA619503 (31 JUL 2027).
Black Cherry — LLA618503, LLA618603, LLA618703, LLA618803, LLA618903, LLA619003 (31 JUL 2027).
Tangerine — LLA619603, LLA619703 (31 OCT 2027).
Variety Pack — LLA603840, LLA605540, LLA605640, LLA605740, LLA605940 (31 MAY 2027).
Sixty lot-and-date combinations across the six UPCs. Six of the codes appear under two different flavours, which is why the flavour has to match too. The overall best-before span runs from 31 MAY 2027 to 30 NOV 2027 — meaning these are products still sitting in freezers, not expired stock.
What is known, and the three things that are not
Known. Dreyer's Grand Ice Cream, Inc. of Walnut Creek, California announced the recall on August 16, 2026 and updated it on August 18. The first announcement already carried all 55 lot-and-date combinations for the five six-count boxes; what the update added was the 24-count variety pack, with five more. Distribution was nationwide. The stated trigger, in the company's words: it is acting “out of an abundance of caution following consumer reports of glass found in the product.” The remedy offered is to “dispose of it or return it to their place of purchase for a full refund.”
No illnesses or injuries have been reported. The company says so; Massachusetts repeats it with a cut-off date of August 18, 2026.
Three things are not known, and we are not going to fill them in:
- How much product. No unit or case count appears in the FDA notice, either version of the press release, or the state alerts.
- How the glass got in. The trigger is named; the root cause is not. Contrast the 2023 Outshine milk recall, where the company did say what went wrong — “a faulty valve.” Here it says nothing.
The FDA has classified it — Class II, on all six products. That answer is not in the recall notice, which is why so much coverage says the classification is unknown; it is in the agency's own enforcement report. Searching it for “Dreyer” returns nineteen records, six of which carry exactly the six barcodes of this recall with this recall's packaging — “Outshine Fruit Bar Watermelon, 6-Count 2.5 ounce with UPC 041548413624,” and so on through the 24-count variety pack. Every one is marked Class II.
Class II is the FDA's middle tier, defined as a situation in which exposure “may cause temporary or medically reversible adverse health consequences” and the probability of serious harm is remote. It is not Class I. One retailer page describes this recall as Class I; that page will not load, a retailer's label is not an FDA determination, and the agency's own record says otherwise.
A note on how we got this wrong at first, since it is the kind of mistake worth showing: the machine-readable openFDA feed stops on August 19, 2026 and has none of these records, and a text search for “Outshine” in the live report returns nothing at all. Searching the firm name instead of the product name is what surfaced them.
A recall is not a settlement — this is the part people get wrong
Search traffic for a recall and search traffic for a class action look identical, and they are not the same thing at all.
| A recall | A class settlement | |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | A company removing product from the market | A court-approved resolution of a lawsuit |
| What you get | Your money back for the box | A payment set by the settlement terms |
| Where you get it | The store you bought it from | A claims administrator |
| Claim form | None | Yes |
| Deadline | None | Yes, and missing it forfeits the payment while the release still binds you |
| Receipt | Store's policy | Usually optional, with a higher payment if you have one |
So: take the box back, get your money, and that is the whole of what this recall entitles you to today.
If someone was actually hurt — cut, dental injury, anything requiring treatment — that is a different body of law, and it is state law: there is no federal products liability statute. A foreign object in food is the textbook manufacturing defect, the category where strict liability applies and a plaintiff does not need to prove anyone intended anything. Liability can run down the whole chain, from manufacturer to the retail store. Time limits vary by state. If that is you, keep the product and the packaging, and get medical documentation — the physical evidence is the case.
The same two UPCs were recalled for foreign objects in 2020
This is the most substantive thing in the record and nobody seems to have noticed it. Dreyer's has recalled Outshine bars before, and the specific UPCs overlap.
| Date | Product | Reason | FDA class | Quantity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nov 3, 2025 | Häagen-Dazs Chocolate Dark Chocolate Mini Bars | Undeclared wheat | Class II | 3,410 cases |
| Jul 17, 2023 | Outshine No Sugar Added Strawberry | Undeclared milk — “a faulty valve” | Class II | 5,060 cases |
| Dec 11, 2020 | Outshine Fruit & Cream Pineapple Coconut | Foreign matter | Class II | 856 cases |
| Mar 9, 2020 | Outshine Strawberry, Pineapple, Variety Pack | White plastic pieces | Class II | 5,204 / 24,297 / 92,393 cases |
| Oct 7, 2016 | Nestlé Drumstick | Listeria monocytogenes | Class II | 103,366 / 12,699 cases |
The variety pack UPC 041548816678 and the strawberry UPC 041548610047 in the 2026 glass recall are the same UPCs recalled in March 2020 for white plastic pieces. The same items, foreign objects, twice in six years.
Every comparable foreign-object recall in that history was classified Class II — and so is this one. The pattern held.
Correcting the record: the Dreyer's lawsuit you are reading about is over
Coverage of the recall keeps mentioning that “Dreyer's is facing a lawsuit.” That case is Gomez v. Dreyer's Grand Ice Cream, Inc., filed in the Northern District of California on December 9, 2025, alleging that “Made with Real Fruit” and “Plant Based” labelling was misleading. It has nothing to do with glass or with this recall.
More to the point, it ended on May 13, 2026, with a notice of voluntary dismissal with prejudice. The case is terminated. No settlement is on the docket — a dismissal with prejudice is not a settlement, and we are not going to describe it as one.
Both truthinadvertising.org and Top Class Actions still list it as pending. It was already three months dead when the recall was announced. If you went looking for a way to join it, there is nothing to join.
One more citation error worth flagging: the case number is widely printed as 1:25-cv-10549. The Northern District of California has no division “1.” The docket number is 3:25-cv-10549.
The Data Behind This Story
- Recalling firm
- Dreyer's Grand Ice Cream, Inc., Walnut Creek, California
- Announced
- August 16, 2026; updated August 18, 2026 to add the 24-count variety pack
- Products
- 6 UPCs — Strawberry, Grape, Watermelon, Black Cherry, Tangerine 6-counts and the 24-count Variety Pack
- Lot-and-date combinations
- 60, spanning best-before 31 MAY 2027 to 30 NOV 2027
- Trigger
- Consumer reports of glass found in the product
- Root cause
- Not disclosed by the company
- Illnesses or injuries
- None reported as of August 18, 2026
- FDA classification
- Class II — all six products, per the FDA's own enforcement report
- Quantity recalled
- Not disclosed
- Distribution
- Nationwide
- What you get
- Full refund at the place of purchase. No claim form, no fund, no deadline
- Repeat UPCs
- 041548816678 and 041548610047 were also recalled March 9, 2020 for white plastic pieces
- Source: FDA, “UPDATED: Dreyer's Grand Ice Cream, Inc. Issues Voluntary Recall on Select Outshine Fruit Bars Due to Possible Foreign Matter Contamination,” company announcement and publish date August 18, 2026, read September 4, 2026 — the recalling firm, nationwide distribution, all six UPCs, the complete lot code and best-before list, the quoted trigger and remedy, and the statement that no illnesses or injuries have been reported. No FDA recall classification appears on the page.
- Source: PR Newswire release 302852376, “Dreyer's Grand Ice Cream, Inc. Issues Voluntary Recall on Select Outshine Fruit Bars Due to Possible Foreign Matter Contamination,” dated August 16, 2026, Walnut Creek — read September 4, 2026 and compared line by line against the August 18 updated version; the variety pack and additional lots appear only in the later text.
- Source: Massachusetts Department of Public Health consumer alert on the recall, read September 4, 2026 — the six UPCs independently confirmed, the quoted warning that a matching flavour or package size alone does not mean a product is recalled, and the no-illnesses statement as of August 18, 2026. This advisory carries no lot codes of its own and points readers to the FDA list; the codes are independently confirmed instead by the August 16 press release.
- Source: FDA Enforcement Report, accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/ires, Quick Search for “Dreyer,” run in a browser session on September 4, 2026 — “Showing 1 to 19 of 19 records,” of which six are this recall: Outshine Fruit Bar Watermelon (UPC 041548413624), Strawberry (041548610047), Grape (041548244044), Tangerine (041548612041), Black Cherry (041548000121) and the 24-count Variety Pack (041548816678), each described as 2.5 ounce bars in paper outer cartons, recalling firm Dreyer's Grand Ice Cream, classification <strong>Class II</strong>. Watermelon, Grape, Tangerine and Black Cherry appear exactly once in the whole result set, confirming these are not the older recalls. The separate machine-readable openFDA feed carries none of them and its metadata shows no records after August 19, 2026; a text search for “Outshine” in the live report returns nothing, which is an indexing quirk of that search and not evidence of absence.
- Source: openFDA enforcement records for the earlier recalls in the history table, read September 4, 2026: H-0227-2026 (Häagen-Dazs, undeclared wheat, Class II, 3,410 cases); F-1365-2023 (Outshine No Sugar Added Strawberry, undeclared milk, Class II, 5,060 cases, with the company's “faulty valve” explanation); F-0192-2021 (Outshine Fruit & Cream Pineapple Coconut, foreign matter, Class II, 856 cases); F-0837, F-0838 and F-0839-2020 (Outshine Strawberry, Pineapple and Variety Pack, white plastic pieces, Class II, March 9, 2020); F-0277 and F-0278-2017 (Nestlé Drumstick, Listeria monocytogenes, Class II).
- Source: Docket, Gomez v. Dreyer's Grand Ice Cream, Inc., No. 3:25-cv-10549 (N.D. Cal., filed December 9, 2025), read via CourtListener September 4, 2026 — the labelling claims, the Rule 7.1 corporate disclosure naming Dreyers Grand Ice Cream Holdings, Inc., Froneri US, Inc. and Froneri International Limited, and docket entry 23 of May 13, 2026, a notice of voluntary dismissal with prejudice, after which the civil case was terminated. No settlement appears on the docket. truthinadvertising.org and Top Class Actions both still described the case as pending when read on September 4, 2026.
- Source: FDA, “Recalls, Background and Definitions,” read September 4, 2026 — the Class I, II and III definitions and the description of a recall as a firm's removal of product from the market.
- Source: Cornell Legal Information Institute, “Products liability,” read September 4, 2026 — that there is no federal products liability law, the definition of a manufacturing defect as occurring during construction or production, the strict liability standard, and that liability can extend through the distribution chain to the retail seller.
- Source: Searches for litigation arising from this recall — CourtListener/RECAP for “Outshine” from August 1, 2026, “Froneri” and “Dreyer's” from August 18, 2026, plus classaction.org and Top Class Actions — returned nothing as of September 4, 2026. RECAP covers federal courts unevenly and does not cover state courts at all, so a newly filed state case would not be visible; this is not a finding that none exists.
Journalists: these figures are free to cite with attribution to Settlement Insight. Custom data pulls: press@settlementinsight.com.