The Lawyers in This Data Breach Case Are Asking for $168,000 — Roughly What 3,360 Class Members Would Collect at $50 Each. And California Casualty, Not a Settlement Fund, Pays Both.
Amin v. California Casualty Indemnity Exchange (Superior Court of San Joaquin County, No. STK-CV-UBT-2026-0003331) settles claims over a targeted cyberattack that ran from September 2 to September 8, 2025 and reached files containing Social Security numbers, passport numbers, medical and health-insurance information and financial account numbers. The benefits are the ordinary two — $50 with no paperwork, or up to $4,000 with documentation — plus two years of credit monitoring with $1 million of fraud insurance. What is not ordinary is the size: the fee request is $168,000, an order of magnitude below the typical breach settlement, and the settlement website names no common fund at all. Claims close November 16, 2026.
By Settlement Insight Data Desk ·
A six-day intrusion at an insurer that mostly covers teachers, police and firefighters
California Casualty is not a mass-market insurer. Its own website organises its business around a “Who We Serve” menu naming educators, firefighters, peace officers, nurses and higher-education employees — auto and home policies sold into those professions. That is worth holding in mind when you read the list of what was taken.
The court-authorized FAQ describes the incident: “This lawsuit alleges that during the September 2025 targeted cyberattack on California Casualty's computer systems, certain files that contained private information were accessed.” Those files “may have contained personal information such as name; medical information; taxpayer identification number; driver's license or state identification number; health insurance information; date of birth; social security number; passport number; and financial account number/payment card numbers.”
The window was narrow and specific. Reporting on the company's regulator filings puts the unauthorized access between September 2 and September 8, 2025, with discovery on November 5, 2025 and notification letters beginning November 19, 2025. That is roughly a ten-week gap between the intrusion ending and the letters going out — normal for forensic review, and long enough that anyone who saw fraud in the autumn may not have connected it to an insurance company at the time.
How many people? The settlement website does not say, and we are not going to invent a number for it. Coverage based on state regulator disclosures reports at least 6,416 current and former policyholders, with only a handful of residents in individual small states. Treat that as reported rather than official; the class definition, which is official, is broader in principle: “All living individuals residing in the United States whose PII was impacted in the Data Breach discovered by California Casualty in September 2025, including all those individuals who received notice of the breach.”
The number that tells you the size of this case: $168,000
Data breach settlements advertise themselves with a fund. This one does not. Nowhere on the court-authorized website is a common fund figure stated — not on the home page, not in the 21-question FAQ. What the FAQ does state is who pays the costs, and the answer is the company, separately from anything class members receive:
“Class Counsel will ask the Court to approve $168,000.00 as reasonable attorneys' fees and reimbursement of litigation costs. This amount will be paid by California Casualty. Class Counsel will also ask for Service Award payments of $3,000.00 for each of the Class Representatives. Service Award payments will also be paid by California Casualty.”
$168,000 is a striking figure in this field. Fee requests in breach settlements we have covered this month run to $217,000 for a class of 10,675, and into the millions where classes reach six and seven figures. A fee ask this small is what a case looks like when the class is genuinely small — which is consistent with the roughly 6,400 people reported, and inconsistent with any expectation that this is a large payout event.
The structural upside for claimants is real, though. Where a fixed fund exists, the no-proof payment is usually described as an estimate that shrinks if too many people claim — that is why so many breach settlements pay out at a fraction of the advertised amount. Here the FAQ describes the $50 without any such hedge, and the fees and service awards sit outside whatever class members get. There is no pool for claimants to dilute one another in. We note the limits of that observation honestly: the settlement agreement itself, which would state a cap if one exists, is linked from the site but served through a script-rendered documents page we could not retrieve, so we are describing what the court-authorized FAQ says rather than the full agreement.
What you can actually claim, and the deadline that is not the claims deadline
Every class member can take one of two cash options, and the credit monitoring on top of it. From FAQ 7: “All Class Members may enroll in Credit Monitoring Services and claim one of the two cash payment options.”
Option one — documented losses. “If you incurred actual, documented out-of-pocket losses due to the Data Incident, you can get back up to $4,000.00.” There is a date range on this that most people will miss: “The losses must have occurred between September 2, 2025, and November 16, 2026.” Covered items are the usual ones — losses from identity theft or fraud, credit report and credit freeze fees, the cost of replacing IDs, postage to write to banks. Self-made notes can support other proof but “those notes or papers alone are not enough to make a valid claim.” Anything a third party already reimbursed is out.
Option two — the flat payment. “Instead of any other payments, you may claim a one-time $50.00 cash payment. You do not have to provide any proof or explanation to claim this payment.”
Credit monitoring, for everyone. Two years of CyEx Financial Shield Complete, “with $1 million of financial fraud insurance,” monitoring for fraud or identity theft, unauthorized financial transactions and personal information appearing in high-risk transactions, with a fraud resolution agent on call. That is on top of the cash, not instead of it.
Now the dates, because there are two and they are twelve days apart. Claims are due November 16, 2026 — online by that date, or postmarked by it if you mail the form. But if you want to keep your own right to sue, or to tell the judge you object, that decision is due earlier: “The deadline to exclude yourself from the Settlement is November 4, 2026,” and objections are due the same day. The Final Approval Hearing is December 4, 2026 at 9:00 a.m.
One practical obstacle worth knowing before you start: the online claim form asks for a settlement login ID and PIN from the mailed notice. If you believe you were affected and no letter reached you, contact the administrator rather than assuming you are out — Simpluris, at (833) 360-6751 or info@CACasualtyDataSettlement.com, with mail to California Casualty Data Incident Settlement, c/o Settlement Administrator, P.O. Box 25226, Santa Ana, CA 92799.
Finally, payment is not quick. The FAQ is candid about it: “Settlement payments will be distributed if the Court grants final approval, and after any appeals are resolved,” and it declines to predict whether appeals will be filed. December 4 is the hearing, not the payday.
The Data Behind This Story
- Case
- Mohammed Amin, et al. v. California Casualty Indemnity Exchange d/b/a California Casualty Group, Case No. STK-CV-UBT-2026-0003331, Superior Court for San Joaquin County, California
- Class representatives
- Mohammed Amin; Kevin Coyne; Louise Ramos
- The breach
- Targeted cyberattack on California Casualty's systems in September 2025; unauthorized access reported as September 2–8, 2025, discovered November 5, 2025, letters from November 19, 2025
- Data involved
- Name, medical information, taxpayer identification number, driver's license or state ID number, health insurance information, date of birth, Social Security number, passport number, financial account and payment card numbers
- Class definition
- All living individuals residing in the United States whose PII was impacted in the data breach discovered by California Casualty in September 2025, including all those who received notice
- People affected
- Not stated on the settlement website. Reported as at least 6,416 based on state regulator filings — treat as reported, not official
- Settlement fund
- None stated on the court-authorized website
- Cash option A
- Up to $4,000.00 for actual, documented out-of-pocket losses incurred between September 2, 2025 and November 16, 2026; proof required, self-made notes alone are insufficient, no double recovery
- Cash option B
- A one-time $50.00 payment with no proof or explanation — an alternative to option A, not in addition
- Credit monitoring
- Two years of CyEx Financial Shield Complete with $1 million of financial fraud insurance, available to all class members in addition to the cash payment
- Fees and awards
- $168,000.00 requested for attorneys' fees and litigation costs, plus $3,000.00 service awards for each class representative — all paid by California Casualty
- Claim deadline
- November 16, 2026 — online or postmarked
- Opt-out / objection deadline
- November 4, 2026
- Final approval hearing
- December 4, 2026 at 9:00 a.m.
- Payment timing
- Only after final approval and the resolution of any appeals; no date is predicted
- Class counsel
- Andrew G. Gunem and Carly M. Roman, Strauss Borrelli PLLC
- Administrator / official site
- Simpluris — CACasualtyDataSettlement.com; (833) 360-6751; info@CACasualtyDataSettlement.com; P.O. Box 25226, Santa Ana, CA 92799
- Source: CACasualtyDataSettlement.com — court-authorized settlement website administered by Simpluris (primary source, read August 31, 2026): the home page and the full 21-question FAQ, from which every quotation on this page is taken — the case name and number and court (FAQ 1), the description of the September 2025 cyberattack and the data list (FAQ 2), the class representatives (FAQ 3), the class definition and exclusions (FAQ 5–6), the credit monitoring and both cash options (FAQ 7), the claim submission methods and the November 16, 2026 deadline (FAQ 9–10), the payment timing and December 4, 2026 hearing (FAQ 11), class counsel and the $168,000 fee request and $3,000 service awards (FAQ 12–14), and the November 4, 2026 exclusion deadline (FAQ 15)
- Source: Not retrieved: the Settlement Agreement and Notice PDFs are linked from the site's Documents page, which is script-rendered and returned no document links to us. Any statement about a cap on total payouts would require that agreement, so we make none
- Source: classaction.org and claimdepot.com — secondary reporting based on state regulator disclosures, cited only for the September 2–8, 2025 access window, the November 5, 2025 discovery date, the November 19, 2025 Maine Attorney General filing and notification start, and the figure of at least 6,416 affected individuals, which the official settlement website does not state
- Source: calcas.com/about-us — California Casualty's own “Who We Serve” categories (educators, firefighters, peace officers, nurses, higher-education employees), cited for the description of whose policies the insurer holds
Journalists: these figures are free to cite with attribution to Settlement Insight. Custom data pulls: press@settlementinsight.com.