One in Five Felony Probation Terms Ends in Jail — and Until It Ends Cleanly, the Record Clock Never Starts
New federal figures put 3.68 million adults under community supervision. Among probation terms that ended in 2024 with a known outcome, 57.9% were completed successfully — 55.6% for felony probation, where 21.9% ended in incarceration instead.
By Settlement Insight Data Desk ·

What the federal figures show
The Bureau of Justice Statistics released Probation and Parole in the United States, 2024 on April 29, 2026. At the end of 2024, 3,681,900 adults were under community supervision — probation or parole — a 0.4% decrease over the year.
The probation population fell for the first time since 2021, from 3,036,700 to 3,030,500. Parole fell faster, by 1.6%, from 674,700 to 663,800, and accounted for nearly two thirds of the overall decline.
These are the only national figures covering community corrections in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and the federal system.
How probation actually ends
Counting only exits where the outcome was known, 57.9% of probation terms ended in successful completion. 17.9% ended in incarceration. A further 9.3% ended unsatisfactorily for other reasons — absconding, detainment — and 14.3% in some other way.
Split by offense class the picture separates sharply:
- Misdemeanor probation: 61.4% completed, 11.7% incarcerated.
- Felony probation: 55.6% completed, 21.9% incarcerated — nearly double the misdemeanor rate.
Parole is harder still: 62% completed, 29% of known exits ended in incarceration.
One honest caveat about all of these percentages. BJS reports them two ways, and the difference is large. Of all probation exits, completions are 36.0% and incarcerations 11.2% — because the type of exit was not reported for 38.9% of them (agencies supervising only misdemeanor probation are not asked). The 57.9% figure excludes those unknowns. We use the known-outcome figures throughout and say so; anyone comparing to a differently framed number should check which base it uses.
Why this is the number that decides who clears a record
Expungement and record sealing statutes almost universally start their waiting period at the completion of the sentence — and probation is part of the sentence. A term that ends in revocation and incarceration does not merely fail to start the clock; it usually adds a fresh conviction or violation to the record that has to be waited out in turn.
Read against the waiting periods, the arithmetic is unforgiving. A person on three years' felony probation in a state with a five-year post-sentence wait is eight years from eligibility if everything goes right — and 21.9% of felony probation terms do not go right.
That is the practical link between a statistical bulletin and a person's ability to pass a background check: the waiting period is the part everyone reads, and the completion rate is the part that decides whether the waiting period is ever reached.
What the report does not settle
It does not say why terms fail. A revocation can follow a new offense or a technical violation — a missed appointment, a missed payment, a failed test — and the national tables do not separate them.
It also does not compare states on completion, and the reporting differences are large enough that a state ranking built from this report would mostly measure record-keeping. BJS itself notes that figures for 2023 and earlier may differ from previously published statistics, and that data after 2022 are not comparable to prior years because reporting methods changed and probation coverage was expanded in 2023. That is a caution against reading a trend line through the middle of this series.
The Data Behind This Story
- Event date
- April 29, 2026 (BJS bulletin NCJ 311290, 2024 data)
- Adults under community supervision
- 3,681,900 at yearend 2024
- On probation
- 3,030,500 (down from 3,036,700)
- On parole
- 663,800 (down 1.6%)
- Probation completed (known exits)
- 57.9%
- Probation ending in incarceration
- 17.9%
- Felony probation
- 55.6% completed, 21.9% incarcerated
- Misdemeanor probation
- 61.4% completed, 11.7% incarcerated
- Parole
- 62% completed, 29% incarcerated
- Exit type not reported
- 38.9% of all probation exits
- Source: Bureau of Justice Statistics, Probation and Parole in the United States, 2024, NCJ 311290, published April 29, 2026 (tables 3 and 4)
- Source: Percentages quoted are of exits with a known type, as reported by BJS; the all-exits basis is given in the article for comparison
Journalists: these figures are free to cite with attribution to Settlement Insight. Custom data pulls: press@settlementinsight.com.